Minutes Town of Essex Planning Board Organizational Meeting January 21, 2016 7:00 p.m.

Call to Order

Chairman Van Hoven called the Organizational Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Attendance

Present: James Van Hoven, Mark Walker, Derrick Wrisley, Nancy Dougal, David Hislop, Thomas Stransky Catherine DeWolff, Secretary

Absent: Olive Alexander

Also Present: Doug Rock, Nick Muller, Stephen Sayward, Jr., Mark Hall, Anita Shapiro, Steven Valachovic, Steven Kellogg, Cole Starkey, and Julia Backus

New Business

Selection of Vice Chair – There was a discussion of nominating the Vice Chairman. The Chairman asked the Board if there were any nominations from the Board. None were forthcoming. Chairman Van Hoven made a motion to nominate Mr. Stransky to the position of Vice Chairman, seconded by Mr. Hislop. All in favor with Mr. Stransky abstaining. Aye-5 No-0 Absent-1 (Alexander) Abstain-1 (Stransky)

Recommendation to Appoint Cathy DeWolff as Secretary – The Chairman recommends Cathy DeWolff to be the Planning Board Secretary for 2016. On a motion to appoint Mrs. DeWolff to the position of Secretary of the Planning Board by the Chairman, seconded by Mr. Stransky, the motion carried, Aye-6 No-0 Absent-1 (Alexander)

Resolution of Appreciation to H. Nicholas Muller, III – Chairman Van Hoven advised the Board that he has had a resolution of appreciation made up for Mr. Muller, who after 12 years on

the Planning Board, has tendered his resignation. Further, Chairman Van Hoven related to the Board the Mr. Muller has given a long and distinguished service to the Town of Essex and read the Resolution he had prepared. On a motion to adopt the Resolution of Appreciation to Mr. Muller by Mr. Walker, seconded by Mr. Hislop, the Resolution passes by unanimous consent of the Board, Aye-6 No-0 Absent-1 (Alexander)

Recommendation to Adopt the Meeting Schedule – The Chairman advised that the Planning Board will meet on the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m. On a motion by Chairman Van Hoven to adopt the meeting schedule, seconded by Mr. Hislop, the motion carried, Aye-6 No-0 Absent-1 (Alexander)

Public Comment

None

Adjourn

On a motion to close the Organizational Meeting at 7:08 p.m. by Mr. Stansky, seconded by Mr. Wrisley, the motion to close the meeting is unanimous.

Respectfully submitted by

Catherine DeWolff, Secretary