MINUTES

Town of Essex Planning Board Organizational Meeting January 19, 2017 7:00 p.m.

Call to Order

The Chair called the annual Organizational Meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. and led the attendees in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Attendance

Present: Jonathan Pribble, Derrick Wrisley, James Van Hoven, David Hislop, Thomas Stransky, Janellen Fortune, Mark Walker

Catherine DeWolff, Secretary
All are Present.

Others present: Anita Shapiro, Mark Buckley, Mark Hall and Margot

New Business

Recommend Cathy DeWolff as Secretary

On a motion to recommend Cathy DeWolff as the Planning Board Secretary for the year 2017 by Mr. Hislop, seconded by Mrs. Fortune, the motion carries by unanimous consent of the Planning Board, Aye-7 No-0

Selection of Vice Chair

On a motion to nominate Jonathan Pribble as the Vice-Chair of the Town of Essex Planning Board by Mr. Stransky, seconded by Mrs. Fortune, the motion carries by unanimous consent of the Planning Board, Aye-7 No-0

Set Meeting Schedule

On a motion by Chair Van Hoven to set the Planning Board meeting dates for the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m., seconded by Mr. Hislop, the motion carries by unanimous consent of the Board, Aye-7 No-0

Review By-laws

On a motion to accept the By-laws as presented by Mr. Stransky, seconded by Mr. Hislop, there was a discussion of the By-laws. The Board decided to make some small changes to the By-laws: On Item 5, page 4, <u>Participation of Alternate Members</u> shall be changed to read "or if that member's absence will result in the lack of a quorum.".; and under Order of Business, the order changes to: 1. Attendance, 2. Approval of Minutes, 3. Old Business, 4. New Business, 5. Report of Zoning Officer, 6. Report of the Chair, 7. Other Reports and Communications, 8. Public Comments, and 9. Adjourn.

On a motion to adopt the changes made to the By-laws by Chair Van Hoven, seconded by Mr. Hislop, the motion carries by unanimous consent of the Board, Aye-7 No-0.

Public Comment

None

Adjourn

On a motion to adjourn the Organizational Meeting by Mr. Walker, seconded by Mrs. Fortune, the meeting is adjourned at 7:18 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Catherine DeWolff Secretary