MEETING MINUTES Town of Essex Planning Board Organizational Meeting January 17, 2019 7:00 p.m.

Call to Order

The Chair called the annual Organizational Meeting to order at 7:25 p.m.

Attendance

Present: Chair Catherine DeWolff, Anh Thu Cunnion, Janellen Fortune, David Hislop, Jonathan Pribble, Mark Walker, Anita Shapiro (alternate), Cheryl Sprang, Secretary Absent: Thomas Stransky (excused) Others present: Russ Shapiro, John Orberg, Dennis Trombley

New Business

Welcome new members Welcome Janellen Fortune and Anita Shapiro (Alternate) to the Planning Board

Selection of Vice Chair

On a motion to nominate David Hislop as the Vice-Chair of the Town of Essex Planning Board by Ms. Shapiro, seconded by Mrs. Fortune, the motion carries by consent of the Planning Board, Aye-6 (DeWolff, Cunnion, Fortune, Pribble, Walker, Shapiro (alternate)) No-0 Absent-1 (Stransky) Abstain-1 (Hislop)

Recommend Cheryl Sprang as Secretary

On a motion to recommend Cheryl Sprang as the Planning Board Secretary for the year 2019 by majority vote, the motion carries by consent of the Planning Board, Aye-7 (DeWolff, Cunnion, Fortune, Hislop, Pribble, Walker, Shapiro (alternate)) No-0 Absent-1 (Stransky) Abstain-0

Review By-laws

On a motion to accept the 2019 By-Laws as written by Mr. Hislop, seconded by Mrs. Fortune, the motion carries by consent of the Planning Board, Aye-7 (DeWolff, Cunnion, Fortune, Hislop, Pribble, Walker, Shapiro (alternate)) No-0 Absent-1 (Stransky) Abstain-0

Review Meeting Date/Time

It was determined by majority vote to meet the third Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m., motion carries by consent of the Planning Board, Aye-7 (DeWolff, Cunnion, Fortune, Hislop, Pribble, Walker, Shapiro (alternate)) No-0 Absent-1 (Stransky) Abstain-0

Report of the Chair

Chair DeWolff announced that Mr. Van Hoven has resigned from the Planning Board for 2019. Therefore, there is an alternate member opening. Please refer interested parties to Town Hall.

Adjourn

On a motion to adjourn the Organizational Meeting by Chair DeWolff, seconded by Mr. Hislop, the meeting is adjourned at 7:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by

Cheryl Sprang Secretary